ILDS Young Dermatologist Achievement Awardees 2019

28 January 2019

The Young Dermatologist Achievement Award aims to recognise young dermatologists who have made an outstanding contribution to international dermatology, particularly for patients in under-served areas of the world.

These Awards are presented every four years, in conjunction with the World Congress of Dermatology, to five individuals; one from each ILDS Region: Asia Pacific; Europe; Latin America and the Caribbean; South Asia, the Middle East and Africa; USA and Canada.

The 2019 recipients are:

Asia Pacific – Michelle Rodrigues (nominated by the Australasian College of Dermatologists)

Europe – Helmut Beltraminelli (nominated by the International Society of Dermatology)

Latin America and the Caribbean – Thiago Jeunon de Sousa Vargas (by the Brazilian Society of Dermatology)

South Asia, the Middle East and Africa – Sudip Parajuli (nominated by the Society of Dermatologists, Venereologists and Leprologists of Nepal)

USA and Canada – Brian Kim (nominated by the Association of Professors of Dermatology)


The Awards will be highlighted during the Opening Ceremony of the World Congress of Dermatology in Milan, although Certificates will not be presented at that time. The Awardees’ names will appear in the Official Programme of the 24th World Congress of Dermatology, ILDS Newsletter and, where possible, other international journals.